Information & Tips To Make You A Better Driver

Steps to Getting Your Driver's License in Colorado

[fa icon="calendar"] Apr 11, 2016 12:51:00 PM / by Joshua Rossi

Drivers license in Colorado

Don’t you wish getting your driver’s license was as simple as it sounds? Us too. However, the steps you need to take in order to obtain a Colorado driver’s license as a first-time driver can get a little complicated. Before that, you should know who can be in the car with a permit driver. We’re here to break it down for you with all of necessary facts.

Getting Started: Obtaining Your Driver’s Education Permit 

As a first-time driver, you are eligible to take a Driver’s Ed course starting at the age of 14 ½. However, you are unable to obtain an actual permit until the age of 15. If you are between the ages of 15 and 15 ½ you may apply for a Driver’s Education Permit, but only if you have completed a state-approved Driver’s Ed course from a local driving institute and passed the DMV required tests.  

Upon completion of your Driver’s Ed course, you’ll receive an Affidavit of Completion of a Driver Education Classroom Course form, and are now ready to complete the DMV-required written driving test and vision exam. Visit your local DMV office to complete these exams. Once you’ve passed you now have your Driver’s Education Permit. Wahoo!

During the application process, you’ll submit an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship, which will identify one more individuals who will supervise your behind-the-wheel training, usually a parent or legal guardian.

The quick breakdown: In order to obtain your driver’s education permit right when you turn 15 you need to complete a Driver’s Ed course starting at the age of 14 ½ and pass the DMV written and vision exam.

Next Steps: Completing Behind-the-Wheel Practice

Once you have your permit, you can begin practicing driving! The State of Colorado requires 6 hours of behind-the-wheel drive time with a professional driving instructor from an approved driving institute, as well as an additional 50 hours of driving practice, including 10 hours at night, verified by the parent or legal guardian identified in your Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship.

Side note: You must hold your permit for a minimum of 12 months.

Homerun: Getting Your Driver’s License

Have you completed all of the necessary steps outlined above?

  • Completed 6 hours of drive time with a driving instructor
  • Logged 50 hours of driving practice, including 10 hours at night
  • Have had your instruction permit for a minimum of 12 months
  • Are 16 years old

If so, you’re ready to apply for your Colorado license! All you need to do now is pass the Colorado DMV road test. While students typically complete this test at the local DMV, select driving institutes are authorized by the State of Colorado to administer the driving test required to qualify for your Colorado driver’s license. This enables you to avoid waiting for an appointment at the DMV.  The driving test takes approximately 10 to 15 minutes to administer and there is no appointment necessary. What else could you ask for?

And there you have it, all the necessary steps to get your driver’s license in the State of Colorado. Good luck! And don't forget to learn who can be in the car with a permit driver!

New Call-to-action


Topics: Colorado Driving Laws & Regulations

Written by Joshua Rossi